Lately, Marvel movies are getting more attention and appreciation than ever, from old fans to new ones are getting more interested in the MCU.

The recent launch of Spiderman Movie starring Tom Holland has taken MCU to new heights in terms of box office and viewers’ expectations.

However, many people haven’t seen all the Marvel movies yet, and they get puzzled at many old references in new films. However, it is not the case with me. Since the first movie, I have been with Marvel as I am one of those comic nerds.

Also Read: 11 Most Underrated Animated Movies of All Time

Well, getting back to the point, if you are among those who have either missed a few movies or haven’t seen all MCU movies, I am sharing the best order to watch them for an enjoyable experience. 

In the history of the cinema business, there has never been anything quite like the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The first Iron Man film, released in 2008, marked the franchise’s beginning.

Now, in what has later become known as The Infinity Saga, there are 23 films based in that world and one television show, all of which are released in three stages.

You may view the MCU films in their sequence of release. However, if you want to maintain the continuity of the storyline, you must watch these Marvel flicks in the sequence in which they occurred.

There are two main approaches to creating a timeline for Marvel movies. The first is listed in movie release sequences, beginning with 2008’s IRON MAN.

The second option is a chronological Marvel movie sequence that follows the events of the films. That entails promoting CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE FIRST AVENGER to the top of the priority list and rearranging Phase Three’s films in some unique ways.

So, in which order should you watch the MCU? Let’s decipher.

If You Are New To MCU

If you’ve never been a fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe but are now interested in learning more about it, your best chance is to follow the release order of the films.

After all, it was the method through which the earliest fans witnessed the spectacles, and it was this method that finally converted them into avid followers. 

If You Are Familiar With MCU

If you’ve watched all/some of the Marvel movies previously, the scenario is a little different, as it allows you to be a bit more creative with your rewatch experience.

For those of you who have watched all the films that have been released so far and are ready to dive in again, Chronological Order is a great way to switch things and obtain a fresh perspective.

Generally, the franchise has done an excellent job of keeping continuity, so you may come across certain plot strands that weren’t immediately apparent to you previously.

The Chronological Order

Let’s begin with the chronological sequence of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. This implies that you’ll be seeing the 27 Marvel films in chronological sequence according to the year in which they’re set.

Consequently, you will begin with Captain America’s genesis narrative during World War II and conclude with Spider-Man: No Way Home.

Due to the presence of flashbacks to periods before Captain America’s inception, Eternals makes things a little more complicated. However, to avoid any significant confusion over where Eternals should be placed on my list, I’ve put it at the very end, right before Spider-Man: No Way Home.

Here is a chronological order to watch MCU movies, which is, in my opinion, the best way to enjoy the entire storyline to date. If you’re a fan of continuity, you’ll want to see them in this sequence.

  1. Captain America: The First Avenger (1942)
  2. Captain Marvel (1995)
  3. Iron Man (2010)
  4. Iron Man 2 (2011)
  5. The Incredible Hulk (2011)
  6. Thor (2011)
  7. The Avengers (2012)
  8. Iron Man 3 (2012)
  9. Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  10. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  11. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
  12. Guardians of the Galaxy 2 (2014)
  13. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  14. Ant-Man (2015)
  15. Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  16. Black Widow (2016)
  17. Spider-Man: Homecoming (2016)
  18. Doctor Strange (2017)
  19. Black Panther (2017)
  20. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  21. Avengers: Infinity War (2017)
  22. Ant-Man and the Wasp (2017)
  23. Avengers: Endgame (2022)
  24. Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings (2023)
  25. Eternals (2023)
  26. Spider-Man: Far From Home (2024)
  27. Spider-Man: No Way Home (2024)

Marvel Movies In Order: Release Date

When it came to the conception of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, Marvel Studios made specific decisions about which characters they wished to introduce to viewers.

If this is really a part of their unique creative process that you personally consider when watching the films, then Release Order is clearly the best option for you.

  1. Iron Man (2008)
  2. The Incredible Hulk (2008)
  3. Iron Man 2 (2010)
  4. Thor (2011)
  5. Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
  6. The Avengers (2012)
  7. Iron Man 3 (2013)
  8. Thor: The Dark World (2013)
  9. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
  10. Guardians Of The Galaxy (2014)
  11. Avengers: Age Of Ultron (2015)
  12. Ant-Man (2015)
  13. Captain America: Civil War (2016)
  14. Doctor Strange (2016)
  15. Guardians Of The Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017)
  16. Spider-Man: Homecoming (2017)
  17. Thor: Ragnarok (2017)
  18. Black Panther (2018)
  19. Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  20. Ant-Man And The Wasp (2018)
  21. Captain Marvel (2019)
  22. Avengers: Endgame (2019)
  23. Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)
  24. Black Widow (2021)
  25. Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings (2021)
  26. Eternals (2021)
  27. Spider-Man: Far From Home (2021)

MCU Phases You Must Be Aware Of

Apart from the order, the MCU movies also follow different phases. Whenever there is a significant change like the addition of new characters or arc, it goes to the next stage.

Here, I have divided all available and upcoming MCU movies based on phases. I have also added some TV Shows that fall in the MCU.

Also Read: 10 Things You Didn’t Notice In Squid Game Season 1.

MCU Phase 1

? Iron Man (May 2008)

? The Incredible Hulk (2008)

? Iron Man 2 (2010)

? Thor (May 2011)

? Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)

? Avengers ( 2012)

MCU Phase 2

? Iron Man 3 (2013)

? Thor: The Dark World (2013)

? Captain America: The Winter Soldier ( 2014)

? Guardians of the Galaxy ( 2014)

? Avengers: Age of Ultron ( 2015)

? Ant-Man (2015)

MCU Phase 3

? Captain America: Civil War ( 2016)

? Doctor Strange ( 2016)

? Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 ( 2017)

? Spider-Man: Homecoming ( 2017)

? Thor: Ragnarok ( 2017)

? Black Panther (2018)

? Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

? Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018)

? Captain Marvel (2019)

? Avengers: Endgame ( 2019)

? Spider-Man: Far From Home ( 2019)

MCU Phase 4

? Wandavision (TV series) ( 2021)

? The Falcon and The Winter Soldier (TV series) ( 2021)

? Loki (TV series) ( 2021)

? Black Widow (July 2021)

? What If…? (TV series) ( 2021)

? Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings ( 2021)

? Eternals (2021)

? Hawkeye (TV series) ( 2021)

? Spider-Man: No Way Home (2021)

? Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (2022)

? Ms. Marvel (TV series) (2022)

? Thor: Love and Thunder (2022)

MCU Phase 5

? Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (2022)

? The Guardians Of The Galaxy Holiday Special (coming during the holidays in 2022)

? The Marvels (aka Captain Marvel 2) ( 2023)

? Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 ( 2023)

? Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania ( 2023)

? Blade (release date TBD)

? She-Hulk (2022)

I hope this article ends your search for the watch order of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Don’t forget to leave comments and subscribe to the Word Street Journal for more amazing blogs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *